Digitakt Beginners

Hello,

At the risk of being a little embarrassed, I thought I’d start this thread for any other folks out there who just got a Digitakt and are as new to this area as I am. I’ll ask questions here and be happy to read other’s.
I am a lifelong musician who is just now enjoying the amazing options of advanced electronic computer hardware for recording and performance. In the past, all of this has been reserved to guitar electronics for me.
I got a Digitakt after I’d shopped online, sought a rhythm unit to be the center of any electronic drum work I’d be employing. This machine ~looks and seems to sound~ cool… but I am completely lost, lol.

The videos on YouTube (even from fun-seeming, well-intentioned people like Cookoo) quickly devolve into muuuch too fast, ‘advanced’ terminology and tangents… and have nothing to do with for instance, “how to open a new file and create a beat from scratch” …Although I may next subscribe to the macprovideo.com courses, I thought I’d post up here.

Excuse me any pros! The good news is that you don’t need to bother with any of this thread unless here to educate!

Thanks all

S10

8 Likes

Congrats on the Digitakt, it’s a beast of a sampler/sequencer! But it might be a bit daunting at first. The manual helps, but I also feel it’s more immediate to watch someone use it and learn from them. I’ve had mine for 3 months now and I’m starting to get the hang of it, it is my first elektron machine ever.

1 Like

Hey Markel,
Thanks for the reply and encouragement. I’m just now sitting on Bank C’s 01, tapping out the sounds. As an indicator of where I’m at, I don’t even know where to find the sounds included in this ‘pallet’. I looked at the +Drive Library and only see 1-64 samples there and none of them sound like the acoustic kit basis on here… Alas, I’ll keep posting and tapping away… Might look into those courses!

Actually, digging through the samples are a lot more challenging than just sampling.