Deoxidizing Elektron internals

I have been having problems with my md recently and elektron support suggested that i open the box up and make sure all of the connections are reseated properly. they also made mention that i may need to deoxidize some of the connections inside. something i have never done before. so before i open up the md, can anyone give me any suggestions and/ or pointers about deoxidizing the internals without harming the unit?

help me return her to her former glory!
thanks!

1 Like

Look into deoxit. If the potentiometers are jumping values just spritz some into the pots and rotate a few times, will clear up most issues.

Also if you can let us know your issue, we can better help with suggestions.

my original post

the reply that i got from elektron hq was to open up the unit and check that none of the connectors have gotten knocked loose/ to disconnect then reconnect all connections and if need be deoxidize any connections that may have gotten some build up on them.

thanks for the tip on deoxit. ill look into it. that may be all the information that i need here, but if there are any tips and tricks anyone has to keep me from destroying my precious im all ears!

I’ve needed to deoxidize my MDs several times. Learning how has saved me a few support tickets and lengthy round trips to the repair shop in LA.

My personal situation: If you boot up your MD and you get weird characters on the display, but Test Mode indicates everything is OK, you may be suffering from the same problem I have been. It apparently can be caused by a high-humidity environment such as my basement. I purchased a dehumidifier about a year ago and the issue hasn’t cropped up since.

Tools: DeOxit is your friend. You also will need a single hex wrench (not sure the exact size, but FYI the correct one will work on both the external and internal screws). It’s very helpful to use a magnetic wrench or at least have a magnetic pickup tool as well.

What I’ve done: