Could the DT be a "studio hub" without song mode?

I’m a software based producer (Reason/Logic) that is interested in getting into Elektron instruments, and one concern I have is the lack of a song mode on the Digitakt.

Is there any workaround to save pattern chains?

Is that in the plans for a future OS revision?

(What I want to do is build whole tracks on the DT pattern by pattern, then link them as desired.)

While it works pretty handily as a hub of sorts, you might eventually find yourself looking elsewhere for more features. I’d probably suggest the MPC Live for that sort of thing, but it ultimately depends on what your goals are or on what kind of music you want to make.

I don’t use my DT as a hub for producing but it complements my use of DAWs and other gear, and I end up relying on it more as I’m learning. It’s an awesome, fun scratch pad, and the trig conditions make for some lengthy arrangements.

Hopefully someday they’ll enable internal routing to use program change messages to switch patterns but right now there are workarounds for this which will require you to sacrifice your MIDI I/O’s.

Just to be clear, are you talking about putting a prog change on the last step of each pattern, sent back into the DT via physical midi loopback? This is a very cool workaround, and not even much of a sacrifice if you have a midi splitter!

5 Likes

it’s my hub for writing. totally.
it’s not without its shortcomings but I work around em, or with em. using extended patterns with conditions, some chains, and pattern changes on the fly.
when overbridge DT is released I’ll be jamming all those stems into ableton for final mix down type scenario, but for gigs all my stuff is pretty much mixed idt and ready to go.

Genius! You could even use trig conditions (based on %) to see whether the current pattern loops or it jumps to another one. There are all sorts of possibilities of making generative music on the DT.

2 Likes