Controlling Digitakt transport via Line 6 Helix

I’m using a Line 6 Helix LT to control a Digitakt. Program changes work fine, but I haven’t found a way to control start/stop. The Digitakt is set to receive MIDI clock. The Helix has no concept of transport, so if I enable Send MIDI Clock on the Helix, the Digitakt starts playing immediately, and I have to stop it manually, after which it does nothing. The Helix can send CC, PC and MMC messages, and I have read other threads of people successfully controlling Digitakt transport, but I don’t know how to do it in this case. There are probably only so many people here doing this specific thing, but perhaps you can still enlighten me as to how you control Digitakt transport via MIDI now that tempo and transport have been merged. I’m relatively new to MIDI control, so it’s possible I’m overlooking something obvious. Thanks.

Sadly, this can’t be done anymore without external midi tools.

There used to be a separate menu option for transport control in the sync options menu.
It’s been removed in one of the earlier firmware updates. :frowning_face:

1 Like

That had kind of been my suspicion, based on what I’ve read – but there are people talking about controlling start/stop on the Digitakt somehow, unless the update that removed transport control made that impossible. Are there other options are out there that work with current firmware? What external MIDI tools are you referring to? Or perhaps people need to start trafficking in the old firmware… :roll_eyes:

Sorry, my brain somehow missed the MMC part…
The Helix LT can send MMC, so you should be able to control the transport of the Digitakt.
The Helix LT manual doesn’t specifically state which MMC messages it can send, but assigning one button to ‘play’ and another to either ‘stop’ or ‘pause’ should work.
The Digitakt should be set to receive midi clock and the Helix LT will have to send out a constant midi clock signal.