Cohesion in eclectic sets?

As a maker of electronic music I’m still learning. As a listener I come from a clear background of techno parties, so I’m used to locking into a hypnotic kind of slow evolving cohesion. Not really accustomed to listen to more eclectic sets. But as a maker I tend to not create that cohesively (yet?). Not that I make eclectic stuff for the sake of it, but when I line them up in a try-out techno set I realize that they diverge more then dancefloor sets I’m accustomed of.

When preparing/doing a live set, do you stick within a certain narrative, genre, bpm range, or stylistic framework, to keep people locked in? Maybe that’s just a good musical method to help people enjoy? Or if you play more dynamic/eclectic, are you thinking of ways to keep the set being cohesive? Or not at all?

2 Likes

I’m also curious about this and come from a similar perspective. As a DJ I liked making ‘eclecticness’ (within house/techno) my kind of personal signature. As a producer I’m still finding my sound and have tried lofi house, trancy stuff, melodic, etc. My first few livesets were super diverse, but upon listening afterwards I realized those livesets were more an excuse to try and play all the different things I’d produced, and weren’t backed or grounded by any coherent, cohesive concept. Listening to livesets from (for example) David August or Voiski kind of changed my perspective on this - the cohesiveness was really alluring and hypnotic, even if it means having to give up things that might be fun to make or explore.

I’m taking a different approach this time around:

1. Use a limited set of tools for production. I’m limiting myself to DT, DN, OT and Peak for extra sauce. There’s still obviously a lot of sonic ground I can cover, but this limits both palette and workflow.