Best idea for 1u rackspace for synth-based producers

Like most you (I’m assuming) I’m basically a synth/drum machine based producer. Synths include Nordlead 2, Moog Slim Phatty, Roland JU-06A and Erica Synths DB-01.

I have a cool studio desk which has a 4 U rack build in that is currently only housing my 3U Moog Slim Phatty. I track my synths through a small mixer and fx pedals into my Focusrite 4i4 into Ableton.

That single 1U rackspace is always there, staring at me, telling me to find something to fulfill it’s destiny.

What are some good ideas to make use of this space? I was thinking of maybe grabbing a cheap Yamaha TX81Z or some old rack effects unit (like a Alesis Midiverb II or SPX90). Or maybe one of those Furman power conditioners? Is there anything that would be cool to send my
synths through?

3 Likes

Roland XV2020 / JV1010 + Boss RSD-10 / RPS-10?

2 Likes

I have a yamaha spx2000 and rate it highly. Other than my ssl bus compressor it is the newest bit of rack gear I have. The reverb is outstanding for the money, i’d say you will be spending thousands on a lexicon or similar to beat the Yamaha Rev-X reverb algorithms.

Used to have a quadraverb, moved it on.

I still have a couple Boss SE-70’s, a Ensoniq DP/4 (getting pricey though) and the SPX2000.
But I have more compressors than anything, mostly 3630’s I use on individual percussion lines in part because they are cheap. You can use them on the master with the kick volume up and they give you this pumping effect, that is what they are famous for. Not really good for vocals but for Drums/synths they work.

2 Likes

Sounds like you have enough synths. I would add a reverb (like a Vermona spring or Lexicon) or a compressor (like a dbx). Used ones can be had for reasonable prices. (So much better than using plug-ins.)

2 Likes