Basic iOS production questions

Hello all,

A few basic questions regarding producing on an iPad to ask;

At the beginning of lockdown I was forced out the box due to my partner using my laptop for working from home - it’s been great - but she’s now working from home until the end of the year, and I’m craving some DAW action.

I’ve been using ableton since 2008, so I’m looking for something as close to that as I can find in the iPad domain, Drambo looked too ‘modular’ for my simple mind to understand, is Cubasis 2 what I am looking for?

Second to that, are samples handled the same on iPads? (I’ll be getting a 2020 iPad Pro) Also, how are plugins handled in this domain, or are they just not? (I mean instruments as well as effects, utilities etc)

EDIT: furthermore, how much decrease in functionality can I expect compared to using ableton on a computer, with third party vsts running, multiple instances of convolution reverbs, sends, lfos hooked up to delay times etc.

I’ve tried looking through past topics and the capabilities of the iPad now look as if they far surpass what I want, and thus, it’s all foreign language to me.

Thanks!

1 Like

Beatmaker 3 or Roland’s Zenbeats are closest. I prefer BM3, but it doesn’t get updated very often, and has some quirks.

Second to that, are samples handled the same on iPads? (I’ll be getting a 2020 iPad Pro) Also, how are plugins handled in this domain, or are they just not? (I mean instruments as well as effects, utilities etc)

You’ll have to organize samples yourself, although the AudioShare app can help. One note: when you create a copy of a sample in another folder, it doesn’t create a copy. It’s more of an “alias” in Mac terms, and points to the original file. So, don’t worry about filling up your storage like this.

Plugins are the treasure of ios. There are a zillion amazing AUv3 plugins, all of which are really really cheap.