Analog heat w/ Syntakt

With the Syntakt having the FX block and the drive, is it worth using the Heat?

What’s a good way to incorporate the Heat with the Syntakt if I wanted to process some parts individually through The Heat?

Do I sync the transport controls through midi with Logic?

Or process parts individually through .wav files and the audio interface?

I’m getting better at understanding Overbridge, but I’m still new to the deeper Elektron processes. I’ve only had the Syntakt and the Heat for a couple months now.

Thanks!

Worth using the Heat ? You know. Personnaly I find the Heat don’t worth it for anything, but some ppl love it, so depend on you. It’s much deeper than the Syntakt drive I think.
To process some track of the Syntakt to the Heat, you should use OB.
Route your track individually into you DAW and add Heat VST plugins on an FX bus. Use just one instance of the VST plugin.

2 Likes

Heat gets way more extreme than the Syntakt. Id say even the clean boost on the Heat is stronger than the Syntakts analog drive but I haven’t ever really compared them. But if you want harsher, edgier, Analog distortion the Syntakt isnt as capable in that regard. But even the Saturation and Enhancer give much more character as well.

Syntakt does have the immediacy of being able to automate its filter and other FX parameters directly from its own sequencer. It has the ducking envelope as well where the Analog Heat can be used more like a standard compressor.

With workflow, unless you’re using the AH on the master and are controlling the whole thing with Syntakt I’d probably just multitrack everything out of Syntakt with Overbridge into it’s own lane then use the AH on the sounds I want, and record those passes individually or in a group.

Edit: