Analog 4 for Synthpop

Hi. This is my first time on the new forum. Some of you may remember me from the old forum. But it’s been two years since I even used that one. Hello.

Now, I’m sure this has been gone over many times in the past, but I’m too lazy to search it.

How fit is the A4 for doing analog synthpop music?

I’m talking Erasure

Depeche Mode

etcetera. you get the picture (or should I say, photograph?).

Now, obviously this is a powerful 4 track analog synthesizer, with a dedicated sequencer.
On paper, all the specs sound perfect for synthpop. To the T. With what sounds like an excellent engine, and a very tight meticulous sequencer.
However, knowing how these things go, once you start to make music with a machine like this, the workflow changes things.

Let’s say I buy one, fully intending to create music like this, and then once I start using the machine, I’m hit with the realization that it’s just not meant for that kind of music!

Is the sequencer even adept for this kind of music?
Is it good for stringing whole songs together?
Or is it more of a live performance/improv machine?

Are there any demos of people making this kind of music with it?
I can’t seem to find any.

Thank you.

I think it’s fantastic for synth pop. My stuff is kinda popy and so it suits my needs perfectly.

Check out Cuckoo as well.

You’ll get a good idea of the workflow and of the poppy sounds it can do.

I will spare you the spam of my own videos but it’s a fantastically versatile synth. From pop to ambient it does it all imo.

I have yet to get my hands onr one. ( mine is en route) but I purchased the a4 knowing it can do as nedavine mentioned. +1 on checking out cuckoo, interesting vid with his reflection as he does live pop tune.

The A4 was made for synthpop.

1 Like

Pretty much does synth pop automatically. Will start doing elektro and industrial automatically if you don’t pay attention.

If you really concentrate you can get it to do nu disco, and funk.

1 Like