Advice/Ideas for Rytm Arpeggiator

Hey there - I’ve been using my OP1 quite a bit lately and one of my favorite things about it is using the Arpeggiator sequencer on drum tracks. It’s very intuitive and quick to hold down a few keys, each representing a different drum sample, and have them play back across octaves, with different time signature divisions, with random or more intentional up/down configurations, etc. I find myself making really interesting rhythms I wouldn’t otherwise come up with by finger drumming or punching notes in on a sequencer.

So. I’m telling you all of this because I would really like to have a similar functionality on the Rytm. Of course it would be awesome if Elektron brought out an arp in an update, but in the meantime, has anyone found a workaround for this? I have a Macbook with Reaper but I’m a beginner when it comes to working the DAW and I’m not sure where to get started. I guess I would need a midi arp that outputs each note of the arp on a predefined, different midi channel. An affordable hardware or plugin solution would be great.

Does such a thing exist? Any other ideas to get something like this working on the Rytm? Do you have any similar tricks to add some wonder and spontaneity to your Rytm pattern creation?

2 Likes

I believe the STROM and Collider apps for the iPad have randomize functions that may achieve your desired results.

1 Like

not only that way …

1 Like

Maybe long slow arp and use retrigs

1 Like

Beatstep pro is a hardware solution for adding arpeggiator action to your Rytm.

I don’t know much about Reaper, but I imagine it’s got a function similar to ableton’s midi arpeggiator which can be used to sequence/arp. external gear

1 Like

What about loading a drum sample chain, setting the lfo to randomize the start position and use retriggering?
You could even layers of perf pads to add modulation.

2 Likes