A synth sound I cannot figure out…

Hello everyone. I really want to better my understanding of modular synthesis. I got a prophet 6 about two years ago and I will soon be the owner of a Moog Matriarch✨.
Right now I’m taking songs I like and trying to recreate them from scratch. Being that I’m still a beginner, perhaps this may sound naive and in fact very easy to make, however I’m a little stumped as to how to recreate the sound of the synth at 00:15. Does anyone know how to recreate this sound or perhaps the synth it was modeled after? It reminds of a late nineties/early 2000’s song off a sega dreamcast game😂 any thoughts or bits of wisdom are greatly appreciated.
All the best,
Erik

2 Likes

Which sound? It sounds like at least 4 different sounds at once. It’s likely a rompler of some sort though, maybe a Yamaha XG device. Any of the 90s/early 00s romplers would probably have matching presets.

2 Likes

that choreography is sweet

2 Likes

hell yeah kyary pamyu pamyu. you could probably achieve that with an FM synth and a bunch of chorus.

1 Like

The synth line I’m talking about literally starts at 00:15 going from a Gb to an E and back.
I’m trying to see if I can make that sound, possibly on my prophet 6. Does anyone know how it’s made? I may try to find sound bites of synths you mention.

I used to really dislike this sort of music but recently something in my head just clicked and now I love it. Kyary is great for what she does, including parts of the cinematography.
But her producer Yasutaka Nakata I think is brilliant. I don’t even think he uses that great of sounds but the way he’s able to balance sound is incredible. I’m trying to learn everything I can from his production.

Yamaha sounding. Reminded me of the EOS and I bet you can find it here (I really think so!)

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCu-qltiC_X5_Th7vfvtnY5g/videos

1 Like