A noob's guide to sample management on the Analog Rytm

Hi folks. I’m new to the Rytm and I must admit I’m struggling to get my head around the way samples are loaded and handled by the OS. Not the actual transferring via C6 — I’ve got that covered — but the way samples are stored on the +Drive and in projects, loaded into RAM, etc.

I’ve read the manual, of course — including the documentation that comes with all SoundPack purchases — but I’m looking for a plain-speaking guide that might do a better job of describing the act of managing and samples. If such a thing exists (other than Cuckoo’s excellent ‘mega tutorial’), can anyone point me towards it, please?

Thanks in advance. Sorry for the noob question.

1 Like

well, you have up to 64 MB of sample RAM that you can allocate to up to 128 sample slots. These samples are chosen from the plus drive. Each project has its own 128 sample slots, so they will not carry over nor affect the slots of other projects.

The easiest way to reuse sample-based sounds in different projects is to make sounds out of the samples. This will not only save the various parameters of a sample (envelopes, filter, pitch, lfo etc) but will also load up the sample data to the next free sample slot in any given project.

sample slot is also a p-lockable and lfo modulatable parameter, so you can achieve pseudo-round robin style sample playback.

sorry its late, tltt in more detail. feel free to ask any specific details regarding this!

4 Likes

Thanks very much, Tsutek! I’ve started to get my head around it a bit more. I think some of it was even lack of familiarity with the UI (how to go back a directory, what pressing left / right does, etc.). I’m interested to know more about creating sounds, as yeah, locking parameters for a particular song would be super-useful if I re-use the same sample elsewhere.

Sample management isn’t the RYTM’s strongest feature, but saving sounds is a good way of managing them.