A good Monomachine reminder - 'Transition'

https://radoslavvalkov.bandcamp.com/track/transition

This beautiful track was recorded more than one year ago. It was composed within a couple of hours - probably the greatest sound production experience I have ever had with the Monomachine. The whole song is based on gradual extension and variation of a slow 64 step pattern with enough synth and tweak variation span. I imagine this song a bit revisited - with trumpet probably. Some equipment could be a huge turning point - Monomachine was mine.

Do you have your sublime moment and track? Post here what you consider ‘a sonic achievement’ with the Monomachine for yourself.

5 Likes

I’m still very new to the box but as I listen to what I’ve recorded in the past few months, I’m just astounded. It’s the music I’ve been wanting to make for a while and the Monomachine is what is making it possible.

I hope to have something to share soon, musically. Here’s a rough jam that came out one Sunday. It’s now part of a bigger track that builds on this. This setup is just Monomachine, Volca Beats, and PO-24 (Office), recorded straight through. It’s kindof a funk/hip-hop vibe. I remember trying to make something in this vein a few years ago with an Akai MPC-500 and MiniAK and just failing miserably.

I tend to get either totally speechless or very long-winded when it comes to the Monomachine. I have never connected with any instrument like I have with the :elmm: and I’m still at a bit of a loss to explain why. Current hypothesis: the :elmm: is as approachable as a groovebox, but with the depth of a proper synth. I’ve had higher-end synths in the past but found them impossible to program. I’ve had grooveboxes in the past that were fun but had so many limitations (they were often based on a scaled down version of their company’s bigger synths).

It’s certainly been a turning point for me. I regret not getting one sooner. But maybe I just wasn’t ready.

3 Likes