40+ year old DJ… first gig… any advice?

This is following up from a thread I started a while back about approaching music-making with the mentality of ‘when I play it live’ but not actually playing live…

I’ll insert that thread shortly for those interested.

Anyway, I’ve agreed to take on a Saturday night DJing gig in a local hotel bar.

I’ve never done a DJ gig before (all gigging experience has been in bands) but, so far, I’ve got my hands on some basic Traktor controllers (an X1 and S2) and Traktor Pro 3, and a Beatsource 30 day trial… so far it’s going well, and most importantly it’s fun.

I decided to do this as a way of just getting back in front of people, and I like the idea of gauging the room/mood and playing to it… and my intention is to develop some skills/experience that I can transfer to gigging my own music again in the future.

I’m curious to know how many gigging DJ’s we have here that do regular DJ gigs and then gig their own music too?

I’m anticipating some nerves, but right now feel quietly confident and excited about it…

Any advice for a newbie DJ?

7 Likes

This is the thread that set me on the path to taking this DJ gig;

first of all, props for doing it. stay safe; keep yourself healthy.

my only advice is go to the bathroom before going on. mostly kidding, but it is a practical concern.

my experience DJing was way back before DJ controllers existed. it was mostly college radio shows playing records and cds but sometimes parties. if people are there, read the room, work a theme, change up the energy when it makes sense. you’ll get a feel for all that, though i have no idea what type of crowds you’ll get during a pandemic.

either way, it sounds fun. good luck!

7 Likes