Your approach to FM synthesis?

Hey!

Guys what is your approach to creating a new sounds from scratch?
I am very new to FM synthesis and feel a bit stuck - every time I get into making a sound, I and up with something crazy sounding and not usable or with an organ sound… :smiley: Yeah seriously - it sounds like and organ (although nice) or some crazy noise scaring my cat (and me as well)…
To me, the FM synthesis feels like something having some strict rules of in what order you are working with the synth engine otherwise the sound can get crazy pretty quickly - not sure if I am right or its only my feeling… When compared with some non-FM synths I am usually working with (like a Virus), FM synthesis seems not very tolerant to inaccuracy and everything needs to be somehow “mathematically” in harmony… ¯(゚•゚;)/¯

Could anyone please share some advice what to do/set in the first stage of the sound creation process, what to do in any of the later stages, what not to touch once already set otherwise everything breaks down etc.?

Thanks!

3 Likes

This book helped me get started: https://www.amazon.com/How-Make-Noise-Frequency-Modulation-ebook/dp/B008H7CEQG

I still haven’t read it all, sort of waiting until I get a Digitone myself. It’s $1.50 on the Kindle…super cheap.

1 Like

Welcome to the universe of FM sounds … really … it’s a new universe, if you are beginning to explore it and it will stay a new universe, even if you have much experience in sound design :wink:

To start a FM sound from scratch successfully, it’s very important, to have a basic understanding of how FM-synthesis works in general and what the basic methods are.

But first things first … don’t be scared, because there is no reason … it’s only new and unfamiliar. You are right that there are some “mathematical” rules, but believe me, it’s as easy as any other 101 :wink: