Where can I learn about drum syncopation and broken beats?

I have very little music knowledge and did a fast search on “how to make drum and bass beat”, yes corny I know but I need to lay foundation. Well Ok so I got the basic idea kick (on 1st, 11th) snare (on 5th, 14th). That’s the basic idea of “Oh the drums don’t fall on the beat but between beats”. Ok more or less. Same thing results in how to “dubstep, hip hop, electro” etc…

But obviously I can’t just stick to these cookie cutter things, in fact I would like to forget them all together and simply “get the idea”. How can I achieve variety in hip hop, electro or drum and bass tracks using only beats? How can I do this without googling how each track is made? What is the fundemental principle of a “broken beat” ?

I am not musically inclined but something tells me there is logic to this. Someting like there needs to be a certain amount drum hits per bar and they need otbe moved around and not be “on the beat”. I don’t know something like that.

Maybe I am looking too much in the electronic genre and I need to find something to read from the 70s when the broken beat gained a lot of popularity.

There is a lot of helpfull guides and videos online, but all they get me is making an exact clone of the beat used in the said tutorial. I would like a read (or a watch) about the general idea.

I appreciate any help with this.

4 Likes

One thing to try: turn the tempo up so you have lots of resolution and lay down kicks and snares randomly until it sounds interesting?

Hmmm, but hip hop is kind of slow tempo. Or you mean speed it up and then slow down?

A good repository for drum tutorials is “beat dissected.”

I ended up printing off most of them and I keep them in a folder like an electronic beat bible… blessings and may the beat inherent the Earth. :grin::robot:

14 Likes

didn’t know you were talking about hip hop