OT + ND2 | tips & tricks

As I recently got a ND2 to pair with OT I’m curious to hear about your setup and workflow. I’m new to sequence via MIDI so it’s helpful (for me and others, I guess) to have different tipps, ideas and tricks listed.

I found a quote by AdamJay in thread »Nord Drum 2 Hestitation« and think this is way to go in here.

Try setting the OT’s first six midi tracks to 1-6, so that they match the Nord Drum’s six channels/sounds. Set the note for each one note 60 (C4?). This way, each track will play correctly if you add basic trigs. After setting up that starting point, you can plock different notes, allowing you to play each Nord Drum sound chromatically. Some of the most fun CC parameters (on each respective channel) to get you started with plocks and LFOs: tone decay (CC50), tone spectra (30), noise decay (21), noise filter frequency (14).

I don’t have an OT yet, though I think I get the basic architecture - love my ND2 to pieces - so any OT owner, feel free to correct me if I’ve got it wrong.

Edit - just realised AdamJay’s quote covers some of the same stuff - hope what I wrote is helpful :slight_smile:

PS, if you don’t already have one, grab a pad controller for the ND2 - I have the Nord Pad and also an Akai MPD controller when I want to mix it up - it’s so expressive playog live - you could easily approach it from a different angle and play it live into the OT’s pickup machines

1 Like

thanks for that! here is a list with MIDI CC # for the ND2

MIDI CC Numbers | MIDI CC Parameter

0 Bank Select MSB
7 Level
10 Pan
14 Noise Filter Frequency
15 Noise Filter Type
16 Noise Filter Envelope
17 Noise Filter Resonance
18 Noise Attack/Rate
19 Noise Atk Mode
20 Noise Decay Type (E, L, G)
21 Noise Decay
22 Noise Decay Lo
23 Dist Amount
24 Dist Type
25 EQ Frequency
26 EQ Gain
27 Echo Feedback
28 Echo Amount
29 Echo BPM MSB
30 Tone Spectra
31 Tone Pitch MSB
32 Bank Select LSB
46 Tone Wave
47 Tone Timbre Decay
48 Tone Punch
49 Tone Decay Type (L, E)