Needing help creating this sound?

so, i need help creating that short rubbery pluck in the first song of this set by SOPHIE and Jimmy Edgar. heres the show: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=81PemvUjbG8. i saw that the monomachine has no resonance filter. i may be wrong though, i just got my monomachine a few weeks ago so im still very new to all the features on it. thanks. -motherland :kiss: xoxo

2 Likes

Sure it has, check page 28 in the manual, filter settings. You got to fiddle with the controls a bit to make it resonate, is all.
MM can resonate like a b*tch if you will it to. It´s not analogue though and so need a bit coaxing.

4 Likes

Start with the filter width turned down low. Assign an LFO to the filter width, set to exponential (the one where it starts high, curves down quickly and ends low) & trig type “ONE”. Turn the LPQ (low pass Q) up to get the resonance and adjust the LFO speed and depth to get the sweep right.

Watch your speakers/ears with the LPQ, it can definitely get loud.

3 Likes

Don’t forget to turn off filter tracking in the assign menu. Although you could make this sound without, it really helps open up the filter.

1 Like

thank u! :kiss:

1 Like

An exponential LFO is one way to do it, or you could us the WOFS on the filter page. Either way: You’re treating the filter with what is essentially an envelope.

The sound in the video sounds like some FM to me, too. Try any of the FM machines.

Further, after getting my MnM, I went searching high and low all over the Internet for how Sophie got her sounds on that thing. No interview got me anywhere close. Every post I could find was basically people saying “Sophie’s sound design is insanely good and she is clearly a master” without any indication at all how to make her whacky sounds.