Music made with Octatrack

Ez guys.

I was trying to find a thread about music made with the OT but couldn’t find any.
If posting your music is off limits, I understand that well, so please do remove this if that is the case.

I got the OT some months ago and I’ve been try to study its ins and outs before making a lot of music with it.
Even though I’ve been making music since 1992 and have a lot of experience with DAWs, MPCs, etc., the OT definitely took some learning.
I think I’m finally where I should be with it, and thought I’d post my first two tunes done with it.
Both of these were made maybe 75% with the OT, then recorded to DAW for further editing, arrangement and mixing/mastering. But the bulk and the vibe and ideas were definitely made with the OT.

You can check the tunes on Bandcamp (no price): https://fanu.bandcamp.com/album/octatrack-2-tracker
Or Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/fanufatgyver/sets/octatrack-2-tracker-download

Also been working on some hiphop with it, which I haven’t seen people do that much with OT.
I love the slicing function and all the little tricks you can do…the “programming” aspect seems to suit me well.
Would love to see and hear what others have been doing with it just for vibes and inspiration.
Post yours!

10 Likes

Really great!

Hell yes! Both tracks sound great.

Really nice work here, Fanu.

Super nice !!

Your tunes are a real throwback, man. Props :thumbsup: :punch: :zap:
Also checking out The Silent Watcher

Great breaks.
Big DnB fan since the early Grooverider / Good Looking times.

Hey thanks all! :slight_smile: Glad you like them.

Hey Fanu, nice tunes! Very impressive work. Been a fan of your stuff for years now.

If you had a moment, it would be great if you could jot down some quick thoughts on the recording process from Octatrack to DAW. Did it go smoothly? What were the pain points, if any, and how did you resolve them? It would be great to hear from a veteran junglist on this.