Digitone Noob Questions

Hey everyone, owned the Digitone for about a month now and have loved working away from my computer screen and diving into FM synthesis for the first time. I’m now ready to start building these tracks out and am facing some obstacles:

1. I am a pianist and when I sync my keyboard to the Digitone to take advantage of the incredible sounds inside of it, the Digitone doesn’t seem to be able to compute notes faster than 16ths. Even with quantize off it seems to quantize or group them to one step which seems super limiting and a little bizarre. Am I doing something wrong?

2. I can’t seem to get Ableton to send Midi information to the Digitone. I’d like to use the Midi information in my tracks to trigger synth sounds in the Digitone.

3. Am I crazy or is updating the OS super complicated? I downloaded the file and the README says to “Send the upgrade file to the Digitone” - how exactly does one do that? I’ve read about C6 (which isn’t mentioned in the README at all) but can’t find it anywhere… Overbridge isn’t a thing yet for Digitone… so… I’m a little lost. (Apple User)

Thanks for your help in advance!

1. Is this as you live/real-time play or after recording? Do you possibly have the arp on?
  2. I (we?) would need some more info on what you have done and what is not working to come with suggestions other than “read the manual on how to configure midi - both on Live’s and DIgitone’s side”.
  3. You’re probably not crazy - but no it’s not super hard. In short… Download C6, hook up the Digitone to you computer, config the DIgitone midi ports as in/out (in C6), drag the firmware sysex into C6, set Digitone to receive system update, press send in C6, wait… Done.

It’s on the Support page for the Digitone here: