Control Digitone Track Mutes via Octatrack?

Hi fellow Elektron fam. I need some help! I’m a MIDI noob and I can’t for the life of me figure out how to get my Octatrack MKII to control track mutes on the Digitone. I’ve looked at manuals and videos (and have read everything I can find here) for a few hours now and I can’t figure out how to make it work. Please help! I found that mutes are controlled on CC 94, but I don’t know exactly what to do with that information. Currently I have transport and tempo sync’d just fine. The Digitone tracks are sequenced on the Digitone itself (I know now that I could’ve just sequenced them on the Octatrack and the mutes would’ve been easier) - I just want to simply turn on and off tracks on the Digitone via the Octatrack arranger. Any help would be AWESOME.

Thanks everyone!

1 Like

You’d need to set up 4 midi tracks on OT, each with it’s own channel (using note setup page) and corresponding to the DN channels, by default would be channels 1-4. Next enable a cc control for cc 94 on each track using the cntrl1 pages.

On step 1 of each midi track place a lock trig (function+Trig) and lock cc 94 to a value to be either muted or unmuted… I don’t know what those values are though, you’ll have to experiment. It’s probably 0 for muted and any other value unmuted, but I’ve never done this so don’t know…

Now for every pattern used in the arrangement, have the 4 midi tracks set up with lock trigs on step1 for their mute/u mute status…

5 Likes

Thanks so much! I didn’t think about needing trigs. I’ll try this out and report back! =)

1 Like

Hopefully the mute/unmute will be quick enough to not cut off the beginning of the track… If it doesn’t work we can try using the lock trigs at the end of the previous pattern, either by using a specific pattern for this in the arranger, or putting an a:b condition on the lock trigs to only trigger after a certain number of repeats…