Absolute Beginner Elektron Rytm MKii

I’m a jazzman, and I just got the machine. I don’t know how to get started as all the tutorials seem to assume familiarity with digital sequencers and sampling. How do I get started? Help!

Here is a sample of my composed music and playing. It’s all acoustic All acoustic, no sampling

1 Like

No shame in starting with the manual homie!

4 Likes

I’m afraid that it’s over my head!

Take your time. It’s going to take some time brother. As you dive in, try to let the manual and the machine be your guide so to speak. You may have certain musical expectations in mind, but I’ve found that it can be very frustrating at first when going for a particular sound or style of music in my head. These boxes will pleasently surprise you and take you to wild sound territory.

1 Like

Macprovideo.com is a great source of info too. If it’s your first Elektron box, take your time and don’t give up. These boxes will pay off with time.

2 Likes

Hi. I’d be happy to help. No master but I get most all the fundamentals. And honestly, I’d probably even do a FaceTime or Skype etc to get you started if you are super stuck? I frigging love this instrument!!!

I and others could also just walk you through a basic beat with a melodic synth line sequenced with it?

• turn on
  • select a blank bank to write a diddy (create a pattern). Try pressing C and then button 1 on the step sequencer (hopefully there’s a drum kit loaded on C1 - if not read about loading a drum kit:)).
  • ok now tap pads to find something like a bass drum. When you find that tone, press trk and that pad to make it the active track.
  • now press play. You should hear nothing…hold fcn and rtrg and the click track should start clicking.
  • now hit record button. This puts you in a mode to sequence.
  • turn on (press) steps 1, 5, 9, 13 on the step sequencer buttons. As pattern loops you shroud now start hearing the beating bass drum.